Secretary of the Navy Safety Excellence Award: Expeditionary

Secretary of the Navy Safety Excellence Award: Expeditionary


Established to recognize and congratulate those Navy and Marine Corps commands that have demonstrated exceptional and sustained safety excellence. The objective is to highlight activities that have excelled in improving warfighting and mission readiness through professional risk management in the elimination of preventable deaths, injuries, occupational illnesses, infrastructure and materiel losses, and mission degradation. The award emphasizes the unique importance of safety as a top DON priority.


Annually, must be submitted no later than 1 April


All Navy and Marine Corps units and activities that have significantly improved safety for Naval forward operating units (e.g., Navy Construction Battalions, Marine Corps operational ground units, etc.).


Commands, organizations, and teams selected for the SECNAV Safety Excellence Awards must have demonstrated critical initiatives and a cultural philosophy that fulfills their responsibility to maintain a mission-ready, capable Navy and Marine Corps.

Requirements for Submission

Nomination packages are not to exceed five pages with contents being clearly identified in sections, concisely presented with minimal pictures, graphically accurate, and overtly demonstrative of progressive safety goals and achievements.

  • Section 1: Introduction. Statement of command mission and/or function.
  • Section 2: Leadership and Personnel Participation. Provide examples of how leadership is directly and actively involved and supports the command safety program and how the command personnel actively participate in the safety program, e.g., reporting of hazards.
  • Section 3: Safety Risk Management.
    1. Summary and/or explanation of risk management and/or mishap prevention efforts.
    2. 3-year safety performance trends, e.g., hazards identified and abated, near-misses reported, mishap trends, and what the trends demonstrate.
    3. Top three lessons learned, best practice adaptation, and implementation to enhance the command safety program.
  • Section 4: Oversight. Provide examples of how oversight is implemented including periodicity, documentation, and follow-up on required corrective actions.

All submission packages must be endorsed via the nominee’s chain of command and posted to the DASN (Safety) inbox at Only nominations received by DASN (Safety) by 1 April will be accepted and considered.

DASN shall submit the award selections to SECNAV no later than 15 April each year.

CNO and CMC awards submitted for the SECNAV Safety Excellence Awards cycle shall be formatted per the criteria delineated in paragraph 6 of SECNAVINST 5100.10K.

Individual awards are not presented at the SECNAV award level.

Recognition for Recipients

Recipients of the SECNAV Safety Excellence Awards shall be announced in an ALNAV message and will be commended in a Washington DC-area ceremony hosted by SECNAV or his or her representative.

Recipients will be presented with a commemorative trophy, a “Memorandum For” signed by SECNAV identifying the recipient’s accomplishments, and SECNAV’s safety flag that recipients may fly for a period of 1 year from the date of presentation.

Individual awards are not presented at the SECNAV award level.